Reviews

What people are saying about Cherwood Hotel




Putting food on a slate Poem - Rating 5/5

We very much enjoyed our 13 days holiday with youfrom the 9th August to the 22nd.We are now back home in Spain.As I promised, here is my poem called,Putting Food on the Slate.The service here is really great,as in the restaurant, we wait.The starters finished. Now main course,and I could almost eat a horse.But what is it that we can see?What does the waitress carry?Though we are served in great style,the meals are served upon a tile.My theory's open to debate,but have they run short of a plate?I tell you readers the real truth,we need two tiles on our home's roof.Would their stock of slates diminish,if we take two, when we finish?Our neighbour's table looks, not good,their meal is on a piece of wood.It seems that our neighbours can't win,as blood from steaks, so rare, soaks in.It may be great, or even swell,a train worker cooks on a shovel.But please chef, or maybe the cook,give us some plates. Not the new look.Then our pleasure will be complete,for starter, main course, and the sweet.I wrote it 2 years ago. Hope you like it.Bye for now.John and Cynthia Stevens.

Response

Lovely words

Reviewer:John Stevens | Thu 16th Nov 2017


4 night Monday to Friday Autumn stay - Rating 5/5

Clean and comfortable roomFriendly and flexible hostsGood locationModern guest house

Response

Hope you had a safe journey home Paul... New batteries now in the remote and working great.Thanks for letting me knowHazel

Reviewer:Paul Swallow | Sat 4th Nov 2017


Fantastic Stay - Rating 4/5

Would defo book again.Owners went out of their way to make us feel at home. So much so, that my partner had breakfast in bed as he was too poorly to come down!Rooms are spacious and very clean. Bathroom a little tight but not a problem at all.Brealfast really tasty and served with a smile.I wish them all the very best in their new venture.Hopefully see you next year!

Response

Thanks Nichola, Your comments mean a lot... Hope to see you again in 2018

Reviewer:Nichola Mendez | Mon 30th Oct 2017


Lovely B&B- Rating 5/5

Very nice room , Hazel and Dave good host , breakfast on time , will definitely stay here again

Response

Hi Tim,Thank you for your kind words.. You managed the breakfast every morning.. superb.. Hope you and your family will visit us again some time.. Hazel

Reviewer:Tim Pocock | Sun 29th Oct 2017


Amazing again- Rating 5/5

The people are friendly the building is immaculate . The food was good and helpful with allergies . I would recommend them to anyone. Well done Cheerwoid!

Response

Looking forward to seeing you all again in march....... Have a great Xmas and new year x

Reviewer:Alison Fowler | Wed 25th Oct 2017


\'Cherwood Hotel\' Paignton - Rating 5/5

stayed 5 days from sat30th sept 2017. 2nd time I\'ve stayed here, new owners Hazel and family were wonderful. Single room was clean and had enough space for my needs, good shower and new mattress. Very comfortable stay. excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. Hazel even tumble dried my jacket when i got drenched ! would highly recommend

Response

Alan, thank you so much for the kids sweets.. although I think I may have eaten more than they have....Hope to see you again in 2018

Reviewer:Alan Scotcher | Sun 8th Oct 2017


Perfect hosts with a great guest house - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay at The Cherwood. Hazel and David were perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble. The guest house is immaculately clean and has everything you need. Great location and delicious breakfast. We will definitely return.

Reviewer:Mandy Clarke Smith | Mon 2nd Oct 2017


Pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

Good food friendly hosts very hospitable, nothing too much trouble. Very clean room, would definitely stay again and recommend to friends

Response

It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both.Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we really hope you will return again soon...Hazel & David

Reviewer:Robert Brindley | Sun 1st Oct 2017


The perfect place for an enjoyable holiday - Rating 5/5

The hosts were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was first class. Very comfortable room. The Cherwood is the ideal location for bus and train travel with so many places to visit. A perfect stay, look forward to returning.

Response

You are most welcome.Let us know when you would like to return and ill get the special cereal in... See you soon

Reviewer:Morgan | Mon 18th Sep 2017


Family Holiday - Rating 5/5

Fantastic family break. Thanks Hazel and David

Response

I\'m so pleased you had a fab time.. Sorry I didn\'t get to say goodbye to Judith and the girls... Hope you had a straight forward journey homeHazel

Reviewer:Denis Gilligan | Sat 16th Sep 2017


2 nights- Rating 4/5

Welcoming lovely clean room comfortable bed very good breakfast with plenty of options. Nice and close to beach and shops . And car parking just minutes away. Will definitely be returning.

Reviewer:Sharon fletcher | Tue 12th Sep 2017


Our Stay at Cherwood Guest House - Rating 5/5

From a very warm welcome on arrival to our sad farewell, we could not have been treated any better.Room comfortable, everything clean and tidy, breakfast good and only a short walk to the seafront. Hazel and Dave are lovely.

Response

Hi Val & Dave, It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both.I hope you had a good journey home.

Reviewer:Anthony Robinson | Sun 10th Sep 2017


Lovely Holiday - Rating 4/5

We had an enjoyable holiday when we stayedwith you in August. The breakfast was excellent and you were both very friendly.We hope to return next year.Thankyou Hazel and David.

Response

Hi John & Cynthia, Thanks so much for allowing us to read your poem during your stay, and for the \\\'On the Slate\\\' poem that you have emailed through to us...Were already looking forward to reading more next year.Hazel & David

Reviewer:john & cynthia stevens | Fri 8th Sep 2017


Brilliant- Rating 5/5

My 3rd stay at the cherwood and still can\'t complain. Was made to feel very welcome on my arrival. Room was perfect, breakfast was absolutely delicious. Hopefully with a bit of luck I\'ll be back in October. Dean

Response

Were looking forward to seeing you again Dean... Ill remember what breakfast and what time you will be down...

Reviewer:dean evans | Sun 3rd Sep 2017


Clean,comfortable&friendly - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Cherwood for the first time last week for 4 nights.I can say it ticked all the boxs,bed,&room lovely ,clean&spaceuse.we had room 7on the front.Dave cooked an excellent breakfast.Hazel was lovely &friendlyperson,nothing to much trouble.she sorted me outwith the wi-fi which was great.We where acouple of minutes from thefront where there are places to eat &get a drink.Pier just afew minutes walk away.Ideal location.will be seeing us again.Hazel &Dave.

Response

Glynis, I hope you had a very happy birthday.... I\\\\\\\'m so pleased you enjoyed your stay..... See you again soon x

Reviewer:Mrs G Stevens | Sat 2nd Sep 2017


week end break - Rating 5/5

pleasant stay.would go back,

Reviewer:Philip Mason | Fri 1st Sep 2017


August 2017 - Rating 5/5

We had a warm and friendly stay at Cherwood B+B. Nothing was too much trouble for the proprietor, lovely and clean accommodation in a perfect location. Will be returning next year.

Response

Hi Christine, What a great weekend you had for weather.. Please bring it with you next year.... Keep well

Reviewer:Christine Ferguson | Tue 29th Aug 2017


Cherwood Guest House - Rating 5/5

A lovely family break at the Cherwood, cosy clean room &a warm welcome from the new owners David &Hazel who always done there best to please. Would definitely return next time we holiday at Paignton.

Response

Hi Kerry, Thanks for your lovely review...We received the info book back safe and sound.Thanks so much for sending it back to us.Hazel & David

Reviewer:kerry holcolmbe | Tue 29th Aug 2017


Lovely weekend - Rating 5/5

Great host great breakfast great room!!!Lovely hotel really close to beach cheap parking provided 2 mins from hotel...Hazel and dave r great welcoming hosts i highly recommend a stay and will be telling all my friends about it.Will be back again without a doubt.....

Reviewer:Donna Astley | Mon 28th Aug 2017


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

The new owners are very friendly and welcoming. This guest house is very clean and breakfast was well presented and very tasty.

Reviewer:Alison Fowler | Sat 26th Aug 2017


Friendly, welcoming and homely - Rating 5/5

Made to feel instantly and at home, very welcoming and helpful. Tasteful, comfortable superior double. Excellent price. Many thanks for a relaxing stay and best wished for your new enterprise.

Reviewer:Bob Johnson | Thu 24th Aug 2017


Fantastic- Rating 5/5

We\'ve just got back from spending 3 nights at The Cherwood and we will definitely be back. Hazel &David made us feel so welcome and with 2 small girls to entertain Hazel and her lovely boys were there to help! They guest house was spotlessly clean, breakfast was delicious and the location was excellent.

Reviewer:Charlotte Mcgirr | Thu 24th Aug 2017


SUPER BREAK! - Rating 5/5

Had a great stay at the Cherwood. Hazel, David and the boys (and the dogs!) were lovely and friendly and catered for every need. The breakfasts were spot on! Hazel always took time to make sure everything was perfect. Thank you for a super week!!! :)

Response

You guys were fab.. Lawson stole the show every morning at breakfast,we both missed him at breakfast....

Reviewer:RUSSELL WHITE | Sun 20th Aug 2017


Loved it- Rating 5/5

Just got home spent 4 nights at the cherwood. The room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was amazing. Hazel and david were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble will definately go nack great location too x

Response

Hope you had a safe journey home.... and you will returnsoon x

Reviewer:jasmin wilson | Sat 19th Aug 2017


Good value - Rating 4/5

New owners are very obliging and deal with any requests quickly.Breakfast is very good..Room was large with a good shower.Handbasin very small and toilet angled.Toiletries good.

Reviewer:Mr.Iain Swain | Sat 19th Aug 2017


Good value - Rating 4/5

New owners are very obliging and deal with any requests quickly.Breakfast is very good..Room was large with a good shower.Handbasin very small and toilet angled.Toiletries good.

Reviewer:Mr.Iain Swain | Sat 19th Aug 2017


Cherwood Hotel - Rating 5/5

Was made to feel very welcome, they were very nice people and helpful. The room was nice and clean.Nice breakfast. All in all was a lovely stay and would recommend.I will stay there again, maybe next year...

Reviewer:Natasha Griffiths | Tue 15th Aug 2017


Cherwood Hotel - Rating 5/5

We just have to say whata friendly atmosphere clean and comfortable throughout breakfast done as we liked nothing was to much trouble we were made very welcome definitely go back big thank you

Reviewer:mrs.poxon | Sun 13th Aug 2017


Great holiday - Rating 5/5

We all had a really great holiday new owners really lovely and friendly looking forward to next year already the countdown has begun

Reviewer:sean brown | Sun 13th Aug 2017


Lovely break for the family - Rating 5/5

The Cherwood is a lovely family friendly place to stay, really close to all amenities.I stayed here with my 2 children who loved it,the room was clean &comfortable. The hoists where all friendly &very welcoming,the breakfast was lovely &filling. Would recommend to others &would stay again ourselves.

Reviewer:Lorna DYER | Sun 13th Aug 2017


Comments on how you found the hotel. - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and cosy hotel. Breakfast excellent.

Reviewer:julie young | Sun 13th Aug 2017


Couldn\'t do more to help! - Rating 5/5

Hazel and David were great hosts who did everything they could to make our stay a success. Extremely accommodating. The Cherwood is in a great little spot close to the beach and is clean &tidy throughout.

Reviewer:Annemarie Brown | Thu 10th Aug 2017


Fantastic place to stay- Rating 5/5

My family and I had a lovely three night stay at The Cherwood so we could attend a wedding at Cockington Hall. The location was perfect only two minutes from the green and beach. The rooms were spotless and comfortable, the hosts, Hazel and David, welcoming and friendly and the breakfasts amazing.We would highly recommend and stay there again. Thank you

Reviewer:Julie Caine | Sun 6th Aug 2017


Very nice (from a young couple 21-23) would recommend- Rating 5/5

I would recommend this place to stay me and my boyfriend stayed from 22nd to the 29th the owner was really nice the breakfast was lovely and to say on the Monday there was a new owner you wouldn\'t of even been able to of known as it was just running as smoothly as the other two days we stayed in room number two got to say the bed was really comfy if i was to come back this is the place i would stay we got luck with parking due to are family being there so we didn\'t have to pay but there is parking just minutes away from the hotel the place is not far from the town and beach at allvery nice and welcoming

Reviewer:Kimberley Henshaw | Tue 1st Aug 2017


Needed break - Rating 5/5

It was our first time at this hotel so was looking forward to it! When we arrived we were greeted by the new owners Hazel &Dave working hard as usal to make everything ship shape at their new guest house! What a welcome, so friendly &apologetic as they were cleaning ect! We were given an option of two rooms one with two single beds or another with a lovely double that was so comfy! Clean room with tv &nice variety of programs, tea/coffee with biscuits! Wiuld be nice maybe to have a hit chocolate for the night but hey no big deal just a little idea! Clean towels &rooms were spotless with clean towels, but also you fill questions about your preferences for brekfast! I only like hard eggs with no tomatoes &thats what they did &it was delicious! I noticed some children wanted pancakes &a gentleman had even chips with breakfast, so nothing was too much trouble! Considering they only took over 3 days before we arrived I think they were doing an amazing job in such a short time! We had a little problem with the shower holder as it was a bit loose, was fixed no oroblem! They would rather you tell them if you think of anything to help them be a success, and if they carry on the way their going I can\'t see a problem in the near future as we will definitely be calling back! Just to say the tables in the restaurant was a bit in the large size not much room,but Hazel did mention about changing them to smaller ones 👍 Would recommend staying here absolutely fabulous, well done &the best of luck for yournew adventure &hooe to see you all in the near future! Kay &tony Ridgeway, South Wales, 31/07/17

Response

Hi Kay,Thank you so much for your amazing review.All points taken on board.You would now find a galaxy hot choc in your room, and the tables in the dining room are now smaller so we have lots more room.I hope you are well and hope you will return soon.All the best... Hazel & David

Reviewer:kay Ridgeway | Mon 31st Jul 2017


Enjoyed - Rating 5/5

Cherwood is a great family place yo stay. Me my wife and 2 children stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every bit of it. The host lisa is a very lovely and polite lady. Breakfast is a must if you stay as it is exactly what you need in the morning. Perfect and 10 out of 10. Rooms nice and clean. Cant ask for much more. Thank you lisa for a great stay and looking after our bags in tge morning as our train was at 2pm.

Reviewer:Panna Singh | Fri 21st Apr 2017


Lovely little guest house- Rating 5/5

very welcoming, brilliant breakfast,room were very nice clean and up to date decor. Nice and close to beach/pier and shops. Parking about 1 minuets walk away.

Reviewer:Jason Quelch | Sun 10th Jul 2016


Cherwood House- Rating 4/5

Comfortable , lovely room, attention to detail. Lovely breakfast room too.

Reviewer:Samantha Patchell | Thu 7th Jul 2016


Enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely time room was clean breakfast superb and well looked after by the owner. Thank you for keeping our case on departure day so we were free to enjoy the day without carrying our suitcase. Would always recommend this place.

Reviewer:Rod Terry | Wed 6th Jul 2016


My stay at the Cherwood - Rating 5/5

The guest house was in an ideal location.The room was clean and had plenty of drawer space which I found very useful.The breakfast was excellent and plenty of choice.The staff were lovely.Would stay there again when I am down in Devon.

Reviewer:Lorna Gill | Fri 1st Jul 2016


Great B&B - Rating 4/5

Stay for 2 night with 16 year old,enough room for us all. like the fridge in the room so we could have cold drinks &have a nice big walk in shower.Breakfast was good size &filled us up for the day.

Reviewer:Julie Brooke | Wed 29th Jun 2016


Road trip - Rating 5/5

Excellent location and accommodation for our show ort stay

Reviewer:Paul Tompsett | Thu 23rd Jun 2016


Lovely guest house - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome, comfortable room and lovely breakfast. For a reasonably priced seaside guest house it was excellent.

Reviewer:Colin Coleman | Thu 23rd Jun 2016


very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

We had a really nice time at Cherwood hotel. Staff very friendly. It is in a very good position for shops, pubs, beach and everything else you could need. We will definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Reviewer:VALERIE ALLAWAY | Mon 13th Jun 2016


Definately stay again - Rating 5/5

We booked this guest house after reading other reviews and happily they were right.we had a great room with separate room for our young son and it was bliss. He had his own tv and dvd and was chuffed.the breakfasts were substantial and basically everything was tasty and hot.lovely host and great stay thankyou

Reviewer:Chris Macey | Mon 13th Jun 2016


fabulous weekend - Rating 5/5

Second time to the cherwood, and a fabulous weekend again. A lovely place to stay, 2 monutes from the beach and town with a warm welcome from owner Lisa. Highly recommended

Reviewer:Dave Bryan | Tue 24th May 2016


Over night stay in May 2016 - Rating 4/5

Lovely overnight stay at the cherwood. Spotless hotel and friendly staff. Will defiantly return soon.

Reviewer:Miss. Kelly Turner | Mon 9th May 2016


Cosy B&B - Rating 4/5

Everything was perfect at this B&B. We stayed at a busy weekend and everything from check-in, the room and the full English breakfast was brilliant. Will definitely stay again

Reviewer:Theresa Tyack | Wed 4th May 2016


Value B&B - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed my 3 days at the Cherwood, foodexcellent with a varied breakfast menu, location great, close to everything youcould need.

Reviewer:Keith Middleton | Mon 2nd May 2016


Fabulous find- Rating 4/5

Great location - spacious spotlessly clean room,great value for money,good breakfast - would recommend and stay here again.Only thing that stops it getting 5 stars is the carpets - theyre clean but look quite old and dated.

Reviewer:Kay Knowles | Fri 15th Apr 2016


Our holiday - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at Cherwood,its a family run business and they are very friendly and helpful. It was also lovely and quiet which was great for getting the children off to sleep.

Reviewer:Zoe Pollard | Sat 9th Apr 2016


two night stay - Rating 4/5

Had a lovely stay at cherwood hotel,very friendly,clean and a lovely breakfast,good parking arangements,will stay there again

Reviewer:John Young | Tue 29th Mar 2016


Fantastic guest house- excellent location- Rating 5/5

Received a very warm welcome on arrival, room was spotless with everything you need including super comfy beds!, bottled water in the fridge was a nice touch. The owner was very friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. Location was great just 1 mins walk from parking, seafront and pier, brilliant park for the kids also! Breakfast was lovely and the kids really appreciated the Easter eggs they were given on check out. Thank you. Will definitely be back for another visit one day.

Reviewer:Lyndsey Doust | Mon 28th Mar 2016


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

Spotlessly clean, extremely welcoming and friendly landlady, bed was superb, so comfortable, excellent breakfast and a nice touch that I haven\'t seen anywhere else was a table top fridge in our room. Would definitely recommend this place to any one.

Reviewer:Chris Millard | Mon 29th Feb 2016


Very comfortable guest house - Rating 4/5

Stayed here one night in January. Was made to feel most welcome. Room was very comfortable.

Reviewer:Mike Rivers | Fri 29th Jan 2016


Wonderful service - Rating 5/5

Great place. Spotless and the breakfasts to die for. Lisa the owner is just wonderful. Rooms great

Reviewer:Catherine Graham | Fri 22nd Jan 2016


all good! - Rating 5/5

Friendly clean and comfortable and a great location - all good!

Reviewer:Gail Timewell | Thu 31st Dec 2015


Very Pleasant - Rating 4/5

A lovely and very pleasant small hotel in an ideal situation close to Paignton beach. Superb service from very friendly owners and a fabulous breakfast...

Reviewer:Paul Penman | Wed 23rd Dec 2015


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Cherwood for one night. We had one double and the family room. The rooms were very bright and clean.Great location and yummy breakfast. Would stay there again.

Reviewer:Lisa Hook | Mon 9th Nov 2015


Phelmsman@ntlworld.com - Rating 5/5

Great little family guesthouse. We spent just five Nights here , &found it excellent value for money Lisa our host did every thing to make out stay as pleasant &comfortable as possible , our room was well furnished with comfortable bed ,&En - suite shower &toilet facilities more than adequate . We found the preselect your own breakfast Time &menu system very helpful enabling us to vary times to suit our day\'s events. The menu being well prepared &cooked to order was of s very high standard.We would recommend without reservation.... Thank You Lisa &family team for s very pleasant few days . Pete &Pat Tyler

Reviewer:PETER TYLER | Fri 30th Oct 2015


A great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Absolutely superb accommodation - the second time we have visited this year.Excellent room, comfortable bed and a breakfast to die for!What\'s not to like!Very highly recommended.

Response

thank you so much.hopefullysee you again soon,lisa x

Reviewer:Rod Collett | Sun 20th Sep 2015


Mukava hotelli. - Rating 5/5

Nice place, good situation. Good breakfast.

Reviewer:Kari Mustalahti | Sat 4th Jul 2015


Cherwood Hotel - Rating 5/5

Nice comfortable hotel, in good location. Breakfast was good and plentiful We only stayed one night to break our journey but would be happy to stay longer on another trip. Thank you Lisa.

Reviewer:Kathleen Walsh | Fri 3rd Jul 2015


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Super location, very friendly and helpful owners. Room was cosy, clean and offered everything we needed including little thoughtful extras which was a nice touch.Breakfast was cooked fresh to order and delicious too. Many thanks.

Reviewer:Mrs. Nicola Sawbridge | Mon 29th Jun 2015


Excellent - Rating 5/5

I have awarded 5 stars, if I could award 10 I would.Superb location near the sea front, bus/rail station and shops, beds comfortable, breakfast brilliant!We have been to Paignton many times and this is the best hotel we have stayed at - we will definitely return.

Reviewer:Rod Collett | Sun 21st Jun 2015


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

An excellent stay. Very convenient for railway station and seafront.

Reviewer:Mr. CLIVE READING | Thu 18th Jun 2015


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

We stayed 3 nights here and thought the B &B was excellent. The room was spacious and clean and and had all the amenities you could want. The bathroom was small but not cramped and again was very clean and well equipped. Breakfast was plentiful and freshly cooked to order so was hot! I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sandra Shepherd | Tue 16th Jun 2015


Good overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent service, lovely room and nice breakfast. What more could one ask for. Enjoyed my stay.

Reviewer:Mr. AndrewIfould | Fri 12th Jun 2015


very cean and fresh - Rating 4/5

My husbund and I were made very welcome at the cherwood .fantastic breakfast, and plenty of it.our room was clean and fresh. The only thing was the mattress and pillows were a bit uncomfortable, could do with replacing.but other than that it was all very good.

Reviewer:Lisa Jenkin | Fri 5th Jun 2015


lovely place - Rating 5/5

Great location, right near the pier and shops,room spotlessly clean, and breakfast delicious, and very very filling,thank you

Reviewer:Hannah Hunt | Mon 1st Jun 2015


Cool place to stay - Rating 5/5

Good sized room, clean and friendly staff.

Reviewer:Mr. Zarzeeth Seyed Sakkaff | Tue 26th May 2015


Great Location - Very Clean & Good Food - Rating 5/5

Location is very good only a few yards walk to the sea front &not far from the Pier. Town centre is a ten min easy walk. Garfield Road is one way traffic with the no entry sign off the sea front which means it\'s not too noisy at night. The Hotel itself is very clean &well furbished,&the lighting is good.I\'m a single female &stayed in the single double room on the ground floor situated at the front of the Hotel. Lisa the owner is approachable &helpful. When booking I informed her I was a vegetarian with Dairy &Yeast allergies. She got me the Soya milk &oat cakes that I\'d requested. Breakfast had plenty of choices and was cooked well no greasy spoons here !!! I stayed here for 3 nights 30/31st Dec &1st Jan &would highly recommend this Hotel...Well done Lisa you\'re doing a great job.

Reviewer:Mrs. Rosemary Beresford | Sat 3rd Jan 2015


Delightful Hotel - Rating 5/5

The hotel is in a great location within easy walking distance of the sea front and the town.We stayed in two family rooms and each one was tastefully decorated, light and airy, and our teenage daughter was delighted to find that her bed was in its own separate area with its own TV. The breakfast was very substantial with plenty of choice and our hosts, Chris and Lisa were very welcoming. The provision of car parking was also a much appreciated and thoughtful touch. I will definitely be recommending The Cherwood to family and friends looking for a delightful place to stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Cheryl Parry | Sun 31st Aug 2014


Re-visit - Rating 5/5

Yet another wonderful comfortable and relaxing stay at stay at the Cherwood. Can highly recommed this hotel, you will certainly enjoy the relaxed but attentive style, and superb location of the hotel to all amenities.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Preston | Sun 17th Aug 2014


Great Place to Stay in Paignton!! - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the hotel during the first May Bank Holiday and were very impressed with the room and the service we received. Very clean hotel throughout, fantastic hosts and great value for money.

Reviewer:Mr. Ayokola Onifade | Sat 10th May 2014


Great hotel - Rating 5/5

I stayed at the Cherwood for one night while travelling for business.The staff were great, breakfast was well done and the room was comfortable.Would definitely recommend it.

Reviewer:Mr. Jesse Sazant | Mon 28th Apr 2014


maureen mcik /dawnapril 2014 - Rating 4/5

very pleasant staynice clean and comfortabale roomsgood breakfast with friendly hosts. will go back there next timewe stay in Paignton

Reviewer:Mrs. Maureen Comley | Tue 15th Apr 2014


fantastic - Rating 5/5

would definetly reccommend

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Dunn | Fri 11th Apr 2014


great location - Rating 5/5

5 min walk from the train station. Comfy bed. 1 minute walk to the beach, if that.Would recommend and stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Vitalijus Titok | Tue 1st Oct 2013


August Bank Holiday visit 2013 - Rating 5/5

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room, the breakfast was excellent and it didn’t feel that you were intruding in someone’s house as it can at some B&B’s but more like a mini hotel. We would defiantly stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Matthew Trigg | Tue 27th Aug 2013


Our Recent Stay with You- Rating 5/5

As we travelled home from our visit to your hotel, my elderly Mother spoke very fondly of both hotel and the care we received. Having travelled down from Somerset by train, it turned out to be in the perfect situation for us, being so close to the station, shops, parks and beach. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and you both provided super breakfasts. Above all, we felt the overall atmosphere was very relaxed and welcoming. Many thanks to you both and Good Luck to the future of your excellent hotel.

Reviewer:Mrs. Anna Acton | Sun 21st Jul 2013


CHERWOOD HOTEL - Rating 5/5

Excellent weekend spent at the CHERWOOD HOTEL would use again if down that way.Comfortable room and excellent food cannot fault thank you.

Reviewer:Brian Docking | Mon 20th Aug 2012


weekend stay - Rating 5/5

cleanly decorated, peaceful. Fun staff/owners.Good breakfast, lots of choice and flexibility.Accomodating and free with tips and reccomendations for places to eat, where to get stuff etc. We were 2 adults and 2 kids in the same room and it was good fun.

Reviewer:Mr. John Green | Thu 7th Jul 2011


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Gay Friendly
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays